Places

Nature stuff

31°C. 88°F. Perfect weather for hiking, right? But that didn’t keep from doing so. I went to Biei changing at Asahikawa which had a nice station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Isn’t it lovely?

From Biei I started walking to an area called ‘Panorama Road’. It’s fairly hilly and a lot of different crops are grown there, so the landscape looks really pretty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

May or may not have been the road I walked on. I honestly don’t know.

Then I walked to the next station, Bibaushi. According to google maps that’s about 11km/6.8mi (Though not sure if that’s quite correct) Took me about three hours (including being lost a few times of course).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh look, baby bread! (Or noodles, or grain tea, or something else)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If someone could tell me what this is? Seemed like large carrot leaves… but I obviously don’t know stuff about plants.

There were quite a few bike rentals in Biei and other towns in that area. It would have been nice to rent one in one place and be able to return it in another. Since there isn’t really any room in the trains for bikes and it’s not really possible to get too far especially with the bike rentals closing around 7pm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, I like traffic mirrors, problem?

Either way I enjoyed walking through nature with almost no cars passing by. Then I took the train to Nakafurano to see what Furano is famous for: Its flower fields and especially lavender. It was a short walk from the station to the lavender farm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s lavender everywhere.

Unfortunately most of the lavender wasn’t really blooming anymore. It was still beautiful since most fields consisted of different types of flowers, some even different types of lavender.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

lavender

It’s a very touristy place with gift shops taking up about as much space as the flowers themselves (maybe).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A lot of the different fields were coordinated to be in full bloom in different seasons.

I didn’t spend that much time there though to not miss the only express train to Sapporo. Taking another one would have been perfectly possible, but obviously would have taken longer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More lavender

Standard